In Accordance with the Dhamma

Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw; 16th November 1961

There are 5 dullābha (Difficult to encounter/gain):

① Now you are all encountering of the Buddha’s Teachings
② Also meet a teacher who can teach sacca dhamma
③ You have the ear for listening the sacca dhamma.
④ Can discern impermanence by practice – Practice in accordance with the Dhamma – Dhammanudhammapatipatti. You have completed with these 4 points.
⑤ Can pay homage to the Buddha and teacher with Nibbāna which is the ending of impermanence.

Some already fulfilled this point also. They are not so few. You all are my veneyya (enlighten by his instructions). The Buddha’s veneyyas were starting from the Pañcavaggi Bhikkhus (The first 5 group of disciples) to the last bhikkhu Subhadda. So, the other people have to fulfill the ④ and ⑤ points with perseverance in the practice.

I’ll talk about the practice in accordance with the Dhamma. Mind and form dhamma are in the body. You have to practice accordingly with them. If, it shows the arising and you know its arising. If, it shows the vanishing and you know its vanishing. The showing process is dhamma. Anupatipatti is practising accordingly.

If, it’s showing disenchantment and know its disenchantment. If, it’s showing upekkhā and know its upekkhā. These are anupatipatti. (from the Aṅguttara Nikāya). You all have the perfection (pāramī). Just fulfill this point (i.e. no.4). This is important. To get it, you have to do the practice by yourself. With the practice, you’ll complete it. For e.g. sleepy mind arises and you know it as arising.

If, it’s vanishing and you know it as vanishing, etc.. If, kilesa comes in and it takes longer time. If not comes in and it take a week or 7 days. Even can be achieved it by practice in the morning and realize in the evening. From ①to ③ it can be fulfilled by prayers. No. ④ is practicing by yourself.

If you can make your knowledge accordingly with impermanence and sure to realize it. No. ⑤ is more important than no. ④. The reason is for no. ⑤ to arise knowledge must be sharp. Have to contemplate as the arising is dukkha and the vanishing is dukkha. Their ending is the cessation of dukkha.

No. ④ has the 5 path factors and ⑤ has the 8 path factors. The path knowledge, the fruition knowledge and the reviewing knowledge (Paccevekhana Ñāṇa), all are seeing the cessation of dukkha (i.e. Nibbāna).

The body becomes light and the heart becomes cool. (Sayadaw continued the Sakka Pañhā Sutta). Not free from diseases and illnesses are the reason of issā and macchariya (envy and avarice). Craving, conceit and wrong view come from feeling.

[And then Sayadaw talked about living beings were oppressed and killed by the 3 feelings. Gave a simile of a fish. A fish is seeing a bait (upekkhā) and wanting to eat it (sukha). It gulps the bait and pulls up by the fisherman and beats to death (dukkha)].

cited from (posted on 2019-01-14)

  • Content of Part 7 on "Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw"

  • Content of "Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw"

  • Content of Publications of Ven. Uttamo

This is only an experimental WWW. It's always under construction (proofreading, revising)!

According to the translator— Ven. Uttamo's words, this is strictly for free distribution only, as a gift of Dhamma—Dhamma Dāna. You may re-format, reprint, translate, and redistribute this work in any medium.