Concept, Reality and Nibbāna (ver. 2)

[Translator's NOTE: This was already translated in group 2 (part2-10) , but you can choose one of them.]

Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw; 17th October 1961

There are 4 Nibbānas. Sotāpanna’s Nibbāna, Sakatagami’s Nibbāna, Anagami’s Nibbāna and Arahant’s Nibbāna. And with the Nibbāna after the khandha has ceased are 5 Nibbānas. I want you to know it. After arrive at the first Nibbāna and you can live in peace (that is no need to concern about anything).

For the other Nibbānas, you already have the momentum. Even you don’t listen Dhamma, it will attract you andgo upwardly for the higher levels of Nibbāna. Therefore to realize that first Nibbāna is more important.

The higher levels of Nibbāna are nothing in special on practice. Just going back to the impermanent process. If you ask; “Why couldn’t I get Nibbāna before?” Without knowing, you take the near as far away. If you want the first Nibbāna have to strip off 3 wrong views. After the explanation and will sure to get it. Diṭṭhi nirodho nibbānaṁ – Cessation of wrong view is Nibbāna.

This refers to the 1st Nibbāna. Don’t pray for any life. Only the earth increases and you’ll be suffered. Don’t take these words as insignificance. Anyone is asking for it will suffer. I am correcting you for your strong mistake. You all want to enjoy is the feeling aggregates. Convert them into truth and it becomes dukkha sacca.

Your desire for the repeated enjoyments in the human and heavenly worlds are superficial actions. But it’s the same as encounter repeated sufferings in the human and heavenly worlds. Sacca is the truth. Feeling and enjoyment are not the truth. I am explaining clearly your great mistakes. It’s very rare indeed to encounter someone to correct our mistaken ideas and views. (What the Sayadaw mentioned here was very true indeed. Even later Buddhists encourage people to increase DUKKHA for repeated births).

You only see the enjoyment of feeling, but not the truth in it. You are dancing by the strings of taṇhā (Here Sayadaw referred to human being like a puppet).Feeling arises means you are in danger. Its vanishing is you are in suffering. Therefore it is dukkha sacca. This kind of prayers are covering up Nibbāna.

(So Buddhists should know clearly what are the outcomes of their actions, vows. and aspirations.Taṇhā, māna and diṭṭhi-craving, conceit and wrong veiw are under the guise of metta, karuṇā and paññā-kindness, compassion and wisdom).

You are making prayers with diṭṭhi and taṇhā. Not knowing is worse than not having. The dukkha khandha you are praying for is covering up Nibbāna. You are making it as this is me and mine can’t penetrate the khandha. You are serving the khandha like a slave and Nibbāna is hidden. Craving for khandha and wrong view on khandha are covering Nibbāna. So, you cannot arrive to Nibbāna.

[Sayadaw continued to talk on Ven. Yamaka.He had the view of annihilation on Nibbāna. He held the view that after the arahant died and totally extinct. Ven. Sāriputta questioned him which of the 5 khandhas was arahant? (After he was entering the stream and became a sotāpanna and this question was put to him).

He answered that no arahant in anyone of the 5 khandhas. In the Yamaka Sutta, Ven. Sāriputta using the QandA system to strip off Yamaka’s wrong view by making him understand concept and reality.And then taught him to observe the nature of the khandha and became a sotāpanna. After he became a sotāpanna, Ven. Sāriputta questiond him, if someone asked him what happened to an arahant after he died.

His answer was the 5 khandhas were anicca and it was dukkha. Only dukkha arose and dukkha ended. This answer was very important. Because only someone had abandoned wrong view and doubt could answer in this way. Dukkha ends and Sukha exists. The Buddha always emphasized that he only taught dukkha and the ending of dukkha.]

The view of after an arahant dies and nothing exists is the same as no Nibbāna. The Buddha taught in many different ways that Nibbāna really existed. (For e.g. in Udana Pali).In real there is no arahant ,just a concept. Only the 5 khandhas really exist. Arahanta means, someone who has destroyed kilesa. Phutthujana (worlding) means, someone who has a lot of kilesa.

After stripping off the concept and contemplate the paramattha dhamma will develop to Nibbāna. Yamaka had uccheda view. Because of not encountered a teacher to help him for uncovered the concepts and found out the paramattha dhamma.

People are praying for Nibbāna is without knowing about it. There is a place without dukkha. Also it must has to be existed. It only exists with sukha is Nibbāna (This is not the sukha of feeling aggregate). Dukkha covers on Nibbāna that it is hidden.

cited from (posted on 2019-01-14)

  • Content of Part 6 on "Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw"

  • Content of "Dhamma Talks by Mogok Sayadaw"

  • Content of Publications of Ven. Uttamo

This is only an experimental WWW. It's always under construction (proofreading, revising)!

According to the translator— Ven. Uttamo's words, this is strictly for free distribution only, as a gift of Dhamma—Dhamma Dāna. You may re-format, reprint, translate, and redistribute this work in any medium.